

Southwest Tennessee Community College Saluqi Athletic Hall of Fame Bylaws

The Southwest Tennessee Community College (SWTCC) Saluqi Athletic Hall of Fame was established to honor those who have made lasting contributions to the College's intercollegiate athletic program through outstanding achievement in athletics, service to athletics, or other significant contributions to athletics. In 2024, eligibility was expanded to include four categories: Individual Achievement, Teams of Distinction, Benefactors, and Coaches/Staff.

Criteria

The criteria for selection in each category is as follows:

Individual

- Any individual of good character as determined by the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee referenced below who has demonstrated outstanding performance in athletic competition at SWTCC shall be eligible for nomination five (5) years after the graduation of the individual's class.
- Individuals who have not qualified for a degree from SWTCC but left the College in good standing may be nominated. (Good standing is defined as: 1) a 2.0 GPA; 2) and not separated for disciplinary reasons).
- Nominees may also include alumni with postgraduate athletic achievements and other individuals such as coaches and staff who have made outstanding contributions to SWTCC intercollegiate athletics.
- Posthumous nominations are eligible.

Team of Distinction

- Teams in this category with an outstanding record or accomplishment such as a national championship, region championship or undefeated season, or tournament qualifier.
- Must have completed their competition a minimum of (5) years prior to the date of nomination.

• The induction of a team shall not prohibit the separate induction of one (1) or more of its members.

Benefactor

- Individuals or groups (administrators, community members, faculty/staff, etc.) selected
 in this category have displayed outstanding leadership and/or support for any sport or
 sports sponsored by SWTCC. Consideration for selection is based on the unique or
 significant contributions the candidates have made to Southwest Tennessee Community
 College Athletics.
- Philanthropists who have left their mark on SWTCC.
- Posthumous nominations are eligible.

Coaches/Staff

- Individuals, coaches, and administrators who have enhanced intercollegiate athletics at SWTCC. Coaches must have served the College for a minimum of three (3) years.
- Candidate must have outstanding achievements during his or her career at SWTCC.
 Suggested guidelines include season records, Conference, Region, or National "Coach of the Year", and significant professional recognition.
- Posthumous nominations are eligible.

Any exception to the criteria must be approved by the President of the College upon recommendation of the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee.

Nomination Process

- Nominations shall be submitted to the Department of Athletics via the attached link posted on the College's website or in hard copy (form available upon request).
- Only nominations received before August 31st of each year will be eligible for consideration.

Individual induction shall be limited to no more than five (5) per year. No voting member of the Athletic Hall of Fame Committee shall be eligible for consideration during the member's term on the Committee.

Induction Process

- Induction of members is held bi-annually in conjunction with the men's and/or women's Homecoming basketball game.
- Newly selected Saluqi Athletic Hall of Fame members shall be officially notified by the Director of Athletics and formally inducted at the Saluqi Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Inductee Recognition

- Names of inductees, along with information about their contributions to intercollegiate athletics at SWTCC, shall be permanently displayed in the Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony.
- Inductees will also be profiled on the SWTCC Athletics website.

Selection Committee

- The Director of Athletics will serve as the committee chairperson.
- Committee members shall represent cross-section of participants from men's and women's intercollegiate athletics, coaches, and other individuals identified by the chairperson of the committee.